Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Clean bore accuracy question. >

Clean bore accuracy question.

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Clean bore accuracy question.

Old 11-07-2012, 08:15 PM
Spike

Default Clean bore accuracy question.

Hey everyone, i'm new to the muzzle loading world and was doing some reading here and saw a thread that talked about how the first shot of a muzzle loader out of a clean bore is often less accurate than consecutive shots. Is this true? Can someone explain this to me? I just cant seem to make sense of it.

Thanks.
Old 11-07-2012, 08:23 PM
Dominant Buck

Think of it this way...

your first shot comes out of a CLEAN fouling free barrel. All the consecutive shots, unless you completely break the rifle down and clean it, come out of a fouled bore. Instead of clean there might be a slight hint of fouling on the inside walls of the barrel. You will notice it sometimes in just the degree the bullets take to be seated on the powder charge. Any time you change the characteristics of a load, there is a CHANCE that the bullets will have a different POI. Now it might not be any or much. But some rifles are very sensitive, depending on the powder, the amount of powder, the projectile, and the way they are shot.
Old 11-07-2012, 09:45 PM
Fork Horn

Cayugad is absolutely correct and the thread that you read was probably mine. I had one heck of a time with my CVA Optima Pro this year in that my first shot from a clean barrel had a different POI than the following shots. The shots that came from a fouled barrel made for a great group but that first shot was a flyer.