Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Ballistics Time

Old 12-15-2011, 09:26 AM
Typical Buck

Default Ballistics Time

In short a friend of mine says he does not want to go muzzleloading for the opener on Saturday here in MO. He just bought a TC Impact ( I have no experience with that gun) and said he bore sighted it in his apartment at 10 yards and adjusted his 3x9x40 scope to hit the mark. He is asking where he should aim at 50 yards and so on. I told him to go and shoot it before saturday and adjust it there to be sure. I asked him what load he thinks he will use and he said 90-100 grains of Loose Pyro, a 250 grain SST. I told him to measure the scope height and that was 1.5". Going to my charts if I am right, the SST has a BC around .287 and the muzzle velocity is around 1780 (guessing with my best gun). If he says he is zereoed in at 10 yards, then I come up with him having to aim high 4.84 inches for 50 yards and 8 inches high at 100 yards. Does this seem right? I told him to zero in at 25 yards and shoot a few groups, then center the scope on the group, then move to 100 yards and do the same and center the scope hairs, then click up about 3" high which should allow him to hit everything in between without doing calculations. I am just furious at him as I am a firm beleiver of getting to know your gun before you go and shoot at a deer and getting your tailored load for the gun you have. I told him to join and put up a post but he is afraid of the comments and scorn.
Old 12-15-2011, 09:33 AM
Fork Horn

Your buddy doesn't deserve to be out hunting, without putting in time at the range.
Old 12-15-2011, 09:37 AM
Giant Nontypical

I agree. Bore sighting just gets it on the paper. He's not even sighted in for 10 yds. Let alone longer distances.
Old 12-15-2011, 09:40 AM
Typical Buck