Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Scope Question : I'm new to the game...be gentle! >

Scope Question : I'm new to the game...be gentle!

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Scope Question : I'm new to the game...be gentle!

Old 12-10-2011, 09:14 AM
Spike

Question Scope Question : I'm new to the game...be gentle!

A couple years ago I posted that I am a bow hunter only and I have toyed with the idea of buying a ML. Each year I talk myself out of it.

Well, I couldn't pass up the deal on a CVA Electra this year. Read so many good reviews on them for the price. Also read all the skepticism/negatives.

Fact is, I'm going to give the Electra a shot. (No pun intended)

My question is about the scope and the rings and bases.

One scope in specific, the Nikon Prostaff Rifle Scope 3-9x-40mm BDC reticle.

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/944...-reticle-matte

I can get this for a $75 trade of hunting equipment +$55 cash.

Is this a good deal? More importantly, is this a good choice for a scope to top the Electra? Which rings and bases should I use?

I see the BDC reticle has a drop for 100, 200, 300 so could I make this work with a ML? Use the spaces in-between the recticle for the 150 yard shot? Would this work or should I choose a different scope?

Please let me know. Thanks for the patience.

Remember, I'm a ML newbie.

Last edited by nstrut; 12-10-2011 at 09:16 AM.
Old 12-10-2011, 09:29 AM
Dominant Buck