Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Breech plug?

Old 11-09-2011, 08:06 AM
Fork Horn

I really appreciate all of the replies. I thought about using the tape but being a plumber I remember an old timer telling me that with the added thickness of the tape he stretched the threads on a valve one time. Now I know it was a brass valve and this is stainless but I just tend to stay away from it. I will say sabotloader you're definately correct on the grease hardening. I clean my threads regularly an have been using the copper based never seize rather than the silver. I believe it's rated for a higher temperature not that it matters but it seems not to harden as much.
Old 11-09-2011, 08:14 AM
Giant Nontypical

I use TC Super Lube Anti-seize with PTFE. It's clear and not messy at all. I hardly know it's there. It rubs me wrong to not have something on the threads, and tape is not an option for me. I like the BP to screw in and out easily.
Old 11-09-2011, 08:43 AM
Banned

Finger tight
Old 11-09-2011, 09:59 AM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by dirt1008
First off I'd appreciate it if EndeavorShooter didn't reply, to this thread or any of mine for that matter. But my question is how tight do you tighten your breech plug. I use Anti-seize not Teflon tape if it matters.
Awwww aren't you special???

Your right because i couldn'y help a guy like you. if you cant figure out how tight to tighten your BP, i mean there is a shelf in there for a reason, it is to make it dummy proof. or for some anyway.

If you do not want someone to post in your thread, start your own board and then deny membership.

Last edited by EndeavorShooter; 11-09-2011 at 10:03 AM.
Old 11-09-2011, 11:24 AM
Nontypical Buck