HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Black Powder (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder-23/)
-   -   Scope options (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder/336674-scope-options.html)

dirt1008 12-19-2010 03:37 PM

Scope options

What do you guys think, the Leupold Ultimateslam or Nikon Omega?

cayugad 12-19-2010 03:45 PM

I use a Nikon Omega and really like the scope. Excellent eye relief and of course Nikon quality. I have no experience with the other one.

Breechplug 12-19-2010 03:50 PM

Originally Posted by dirt1008 (Post 3744319)
What do you guys think, the Leupold Ultimateslam or Nikon Omega?

I have 2 Leupold Ultimate Slam Scopes, love em! My Opinion....the Leupold can be set for a 12 Gauge Shot Gun or a 20 Guage Shot Gun, it also can be set up for one using a 2 Pellet Charge of 100gr's or a 3 Pellet Charge of 150gr's. You just set the Dial to what you use then sight it in then use the appropriate mark on the Reticle for you yardage and your in business.
The one I use on My ACCURA is set up using the 2 Pellet Setting, even though Im using 110gr's of Pyro RS the marks are still real real close on the Reticle. The Omega Cant be set for this, it's set up for a 250gr Bullet, if you use a different weight bullet then you have to guestimate your hold on the Reticle.
Both Scopes are about the same in Price and I dont have a Nikon Omega to compare the Leupold to so this is just My Opinion
(BP)

dirt1008 12-19-2010 04:17 PM

Cayugad do you use other than 250gr bullets? How has the scope worked out with different loads?

sabotloader 12-19-2010 04:19 PM

dirt1008

My favorite scopes for a ML is an easy choice for me...

Bushnell Elite 3200 3x9x40 with 600 yard DOA and rainproof lenses
Leupold Ultimate Slam 3x9x40 with Ballistic Reticule