Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Which Nikon Omega.  1.65-5X36 or 3-9X40? >

Which Nikon Omega. 1.65-5X36 or 3-9X40?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Which Nikon Omega. 1.65-5X36 or 3-9X40?

Old 11-21-2010, 10:10 AM
Spike

Question Which Nikon Omega. 1.65-5X36 or 3-9X40?

I am stuck on this one. I am new to muzzleloading and new to scopes. I will be hunting mostly in Michigan woods and will probably not be offered a shot beyond 150 yards. I would say 200 yards at the extreme end. I like the idea of the 9 power for initial spotting but I don't know if its worth giving up the field of view and probably better low light performance of the 1.65 - 3 range.

So I guess what I need to know is: What do you think is going to be more useful, the lower magnification range of 1.65-3 or the higher range of 5-9?

While at it how about your thoughts on BDC vs Nikoplex?

Thanks
Old 11-21-2010, 11:31 AM
Dominant Buck

I have a Nikon Omega with the 3-9x40mm and no BDC. I love the scope. I just taught myself hold over. Most of my shots are 50 yards. But I sighted this in for 100 yards. And even then I am still in a kill zone for my ranges.

On my other rifles I mounted 2-7x32mm Nikon Pro Staff scopes. This is really a nice scope. It is a shotgun scope. And just a great scope.

So my opinion, the BDC unless you are shooting extreme ranges all the time I see no need for it. If I were out west or in field hunting, then it might have an advantage. I hunt woods.

The 2-7 gathers a lot of light. And how often do we do snap shots? I take my time and line up the shot. So the field of view becomes less and less important. I line up my shot and make it count. The power of the scope is less important then the cross hair and clarity of the scope for me.