Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
scope or no scope? Please >

scope or no scope? Please

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

scope or no scope? Please

Old 10-11-2010, 08:43 AM
Spike

Angry scope or no scope? Please

Hello , I'm new to hunting and I live in Mass. My first bow season was to start Oct.18th and been practicing day and night with research and practice and have become very good with my groupings. Well I was in an auto accident three weeks ago and broke 2 vertabrae (L-3 L-4) so bow is out and it is killing me! Shotgun season is next and don't think I'll be well enough, so I'm hopeing I'll make black powder. My question is to put a scope on my T/C Omega or just use the fiber sights? I also have a 40mm red dot sight I use on my shot gun. Due to my mobility issues I will either be in a ground blind or try to get up in my tree stand. Any advice would be great from my fellow sportsman. Thanks for listening! Allen ([email protected])
Old 10-11-2010, 08:49 AM
Spike

It all depends on your state laws, check them to see if scopes are permitted, if so its all a matter of personal preferance. I have had blackpowder guns both scoped and unscoped, and every deer or hog i have killed has been with open sights. but then, I also sold my inline and went to a caplock, so it all depends on what you feel most comfortable to make the shot with.
Old 10-11-2010, 09:56 AM
Boone & Crockett

Heck turtlesoop, if you can scope it that's what I would do. You didn't ask, but if your shots are generally in the 100 yards or less range I would recommend a 4X Simmons ProDiamond for $40 from Natchez Shooters Supply. I have four of them on muzzleloaders and really like them.

Last edited by Semisane; 10-11-2010 at 04:03 PM.
Old 10-11-2010, 01:23 PM
Dominant Buck