Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Fire or Unload?

Old 02-18-2010, 06:02 AM
Fork Horn

Default Fire or Unload?

I'm new to M/L hunting. I'm using pellets and primers. Question is,, should I fire it to unload or open the breach, remove the primer & holder and push the powder & projectile out the back end?
Old 02-18-2010, 06:05 AM
Nontypical Buck

under safe and legal conditions...just shoot it.save ya some work
Old 02-18-2010, 06:06 AM
Fork Horn

WELL, I used to fire all the time but since I got a BONE COLLECTOR triumph, I simply turn and push it all out, I'm amazed that the pellets are not broke...GOD what a god send this speed breech is......
Old 02-18-2010, 06:28 AM
Nontypical Buck

It depends on the situation.

If the season is still in and I'm simply coming in for the day, I leave it loaded. I've left guns loaded for months and they go off just fine. Some don't feel comfortable doing that.

If it's the end of the season, I will generally just push it out. I have been known many times to shoot it out but I've noticed as of late I don't do that near as often.
Old 02-18-2010, 06:43 AM
Fork Horn

Shoot it, it'll save ya some work isn't a good answer. Then you have to clean it. I hadn't thought of leaving it loaded; do it with my handguns all the time. I think that will be the answer for me. THANKS!
Old 02-18-2010, 07:27 AM
Boone & Crockett

aharley1

Since you are new to the ML thing it would be my suggestion that you push the load out.

Once you become comfortable with what yu are doing and how you are doing it - you might do something completly different. You will end developing your own methods.

I myself never unload anymore - I just pull the cap/primer and contnue to hunt with the same load all season if I have not used it. But again after a lot of experiance you will know what is best for you.
Old 02-18-2010, 07:34 AM
Nontypical Buck