Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Hornady XTP bullets/TC Encore >

Hornady XTP bullets/TC Encore

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Hornady XTP bullets/TC Encore

Old 12-15-2009, 03:41 AM
Typical Buck

Default Hornady XTP bullets/TC Encore

I have been shooting thes bullets for several years now and love the way they shoot. The first couple deer I killed were at a farm I hunt and they were shot in an open field so I never had a blood trail to follow. 2 years ago I hunted another spot and shot a doe from about 40 yards. There was about 4 inches of snow on the ground and the deer went over 100 yards before we ever found a drop of blood. Had I not had the tracks in the snow I would not have found her. I have since shot two more deer with these bullets. I have never found blood on any of them. They have all been good shots and the deer didn't go far but had I not seen them fall I would have never found them. By the time the smoke clears from my Encore depending on the area the deer can be out of site. I haven't lost one yet but I am considering swithcing bullets for fear of not finding one. I shoot 100 grains of pellets. The buck I shot this year was through the chest right behind the shoulders and I found the bullet still in the hide on the other side. I was shocked it did not go through and through. Any one else have good or bad reviews of these loads.
Old 12-15-2009, 04:04 AM
Fork Horn

I love them in my T/C Black diamond. 300gr .430 and a crush rib sabot is bad medicine for whitetails. Never a problem with blood trails if hit well.

Mitch
Old 12-15-2009, 04:07 AM
Giant Nontypical

Throw this over on the black powder section, many guys over there shoot the Hornady XTPs...Now, are these the Mags or standard bullets??? Are they the 300gr, 250 or 240s???
Old 12-15-2009, 09:50 AM
Spike

My son shoots the 250 Gr. XTP's out of his T/C Encore with 110 gr's of 777 loose.