HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Black Powder (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder-23/)
-   -   Will this expand on deer? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder/308049-will-expand-deer.html)

thatguybme 10-27-2009 04:05 AM

Will this expand on deer?

I am very new at muzzleloading (2nd yr - no kills yet) so bear with me - I may be overthinking this..

I am shooting a T/C Triumph, 90 gr of Black Mag 3, and a Hornady 250 gr, .452 XTP (non Mag) bullet and MMP 3 petal ez load sabots

I picked the XTP because I saw it mentioned on quite a few forums as being a good bullet - BUT I never took into consideration what velocities it will expand at..

From Hornady the 250 gr XPT expand from 800 to 1600 fps. From looking at the BM# website 90 gr of BM3 should be around 1900 fps (at the muzzle - and assuming its not over stated)..

From 25 to 75 yrds do you think this will expand on deer?

thanks

brian

bigtim6656 10-27-2009 04:09 AM

I have no idea just getting into ml hunting. I am going to get a triumph this week and was wondering what your thoughts on it are. Also what made you choose that bullet over the shockwaves.
Good hunting.

Breechplug 10-27-2009 04:16 AM

Originally Posted by thatguybme (Post 3485608)
I am very new at muzzleloading (2nd yr - no kills yet) so bear with me - I may be overthinking this..

I am shooting a T/C Triumph, 90 gr of Black Mag 3, and a Hornady 250 gr, .452 XTP (non Mag) bullet and MMP 3 petal ez load sabots

I picked the XTP because I saw it mentioned on quite a few forums as being a good bullet - BUT I never took into consideration what velocities it will expand at..

From Hornady the 250 gr XPT expand from 800 to 1600 fps. From looking at the BM# website 90 gr of BM3 should be around 1900 fps (at the muzzle - and assuming its not over stated)..

From 25 to 75 yrds do you think this will expand on deer?

thanks

brian