HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Black Powder (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder-23/)
-   -   tumbling (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder/305320-tumbling.html)

mcorso 09-29-2009 04:48 PM

tumbling

Just got off the phone with my buddy and he asked me what causes tumble, im new to muzzleloading so I have no idea, he was shooting a encore pro hunter (brand new) with 150grn pryonex ,and 200 grain slug. after 3rd shot it was tumbling and he stopped shooting it. any ideas?

beagleman28 09-29-2009 05:01 PM

Too much powder or too light of a bullet. I had the same problem with my .45 cal Knight with 225 grain bullets. I opted for a bigger bullet and it solved the problem.

Semisane 09-29-2009 05:05 PM

Need a little more info mcorso. Specifically, what 200 grain bullet was he shooting? Is he sure it was designed for a 50 caliber bore? How tight was it to load?

mcorso 09-29-2009 05:18 PM

He was shooting 3 pyronex pieces, totaling 150 grains, and shooting 200 grain shockwave, the ones with the blue wad and yellow tip. I shot the same set up ,he loaded them to me to site my encore magnum, worked great for me, so thats why im not understanding why it "tumbled" for him.

cayugad 09-29-2009 06:33 PM

Tumbling is caused by a loss of stabilization or disruption of the bullet, while the bullet is in flight. What some believe is tumbling, often indicated by a keyhole or side way shape/hole on the paper target is many times, the target tears from the energy of the bullet.

So unless something was causing that Shockwave not to spin properly, I can't see how it tumbled. Now stabilization is effected by many things.. the amount of energy behind the bullet, the twist of the barrel in correlation to the projectile being shot, and possible deformities in either the bullet or the sabot.