Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Leupold and Nikon off track? >

Leupold and Nikon off track?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Leupold and Nikon off track?

Old 03-15-2009, 03:43 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Leupold and Nikon off track?

I have been a avid Leupold nut for years. Over a year ago i started playing around with the Nikon Omega BDC muzzleloader scope. I really ended up not liking that reticle but love the Nikoplex reticle. Little thicker cross hairs and 5" eye relief just works really well for me. The scope seems very clear in all light conditions as well.

I actually bought one of the new Leupold Ultimate slam scopes, and Leupold actually sent me one to play around with. To make a long story short, i havent really played with it. I did mount it on my Knight Vision and shot it with really nothing special to brag about. Good glass, very clear and well made like any other Leupold scope. These Nikons really impress me for some reason and i dont really know why. Do any of you like Nikon scopes? How do you compare the Buckmasters to the Leupolds? I'm anxious to hear some other opinions on these scopes
Old 03-15-2009, 03:49 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Leupold and Nikon off track?

I use to have a Nikon ProStaff on my Genesis and I loved it. I have a Buckmaster on my Rem 700 and love it. And I have an Omega BDC on my Endeavor and love it too. IMO, Nikon has the best scopes on the market... and yes I have had experience with other scopes. Leupold, Bushnell, Burris. You just never hear anything bad about Nikon scopes. That can't be said about other brands.

I still don't get how you get these companies to just send you stuff to test. Do you just ask and they send it or what?
Old 03-15-2009, 04:19 PM
Boone & Crockett

Grouse45