Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 BP Bullet for Elk need recommendation >

BP Bullet for Elk need recommendation

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

BP Bullet for Elk need recommendation

Old 01-26-2009, 05:46 PM
Spike

Default RE: BP Bullet for Elk need recommendation

MountainDevil54 gave some excellent advice on getting to the range early. I have a TC Omega (the same barrel as the Encore). I have been working off and on for two years to find an accurate conical load. Due to the QLA there has been a problem with the bullet starting to tumble after 50 yards. Using felt washers and 10 grains of cornmeal under a TC Maxi-hunter helped but did not completely cure the tumbling problem. The cornmeal and felt create a buffer to keep the expanding gases from causing uneven pressure in the QLA around the bullet. I have had some success with the Sabertooth but have heard of the bullet separating from the plastic skirt. After a hard day of hiking all over the mountains, shooting the plastic skirt without the bullet at an elk would be disappointing. Whether that is a real problem or not I do not know just something I read somewhere and I am not willing to take a chance. I have read a number of posts about elk taken last year with the FPB. I shot a 350gr FBP using 100 gr 777 into 3 phone books taped together at 75 yards. The bullet penetrated 5 1/2" of dry paper and exited through the 1/2" plywood backstop. I was unable to find the bullet. From the results of my penetration test and the fact that the FPB has proven itself on elk makes it a very good choice. The bullet you use cannot be any longer than twice the diameter or 1 inch in a 50 cal. The plastic tip on the FPB must be removed or cut off to make the FPB legal. I suppose that the No Excuses and Bullshop bullets are legal but do not know for sure. Hope some of that was useful information.