Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

How do you deal?

Old 11-15-2008, 12:21 PM
Fork Horn

Default How do you deal?

how do you guys deal with the excitment of the up comming deer season? My deer season starts on the 22nd and I am already going nuts I get my kodiak out every night just to handle it. I look at my topo map every night. I go through my night before check list every night and it is driving my woman crazy. All i talk about is hunting and its also all i think about. How do you guys deal with it?
Old 11-15-2008, 01:00 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How do you deal?

Garuanteed you will forgewt something[:-] I just figure I'll be losing sleep until then. IfI do not get excited I will quit hunting. To me this is better than the holidays, birthdays and all that stuff. I have been doing and acting likethis for 40+ years and people now my wife and daughter just look at the lunatic in the corner. Nope I hope I never lose it!
Old 11-15-2008, 02:16 PM
Fork Horn

I feel your pain, our gun seasondoesnt start until Dec.1 and im packed and ready to go...............
and our ML season isnt until Dec. 27......
Old 11-15-2008, 03:24 PM
Boone & Crockett

Wimuzzleman

This sound stupid but i hunt before the season starts.... i go to several of my different hunting spots and stelphully (sneak) in out of te area and make observations
Old 11-15-2008, 04:10 PM
Dominant Buck

I used to be the same way, but after many years of hunting in the Wisconsin cold conditions.. I find the warm bed a real comfort and it is harder to move out in the mornings..

I was one of them panic packers actually. I used to work two jobs most the time and never had time to think about hunting.

[hr]

On the night before season, all through the house I was running and searching for all things about.

The rifles were resting inthe corners of walls, while sleeping bags, back packs, and blaze orange clothing clutterd the halls.