Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Traditional Rifles Swab VS no swab in .58 >

Traditional Rifles Swab VS no swab in .58

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Traditional Rifles Swab VS no swab in .58

Old 11-07-2008, 12:16 PM
Dominant Buck

Default Traditional Rifles Swab VS no swab in .58

I wanted to check my .58 caliber Green Mountain Barrel today that is mounted in a Renegade stock. My normal load is 110 grains of 2f black powder. So I decided to use Graf's & Sons. Also I broke out two boxes of Speer .570 roundball, some pillow tick patch and some moose milk.

I brought the target up to 25 yards to check the sights..

that looked pretty good so I started shooting as fast as I could. It was then I noticed that the rifle was really getting hard to load.

I fired eight or ten (I really was not counting) rounds and noticed the more fowled the bore got the more the shots started a downward trend.. but I was still satisfied.

So I swabbed the bore CLEAN. As in a nice clean patch. I used pure alcohol and prepared the rifle again, just like I would at the time I hunt. I moved the target back to 50 yards and took my first shot..

Again, I was pleased.. So I shot four more. The next two were real good. Then the rifle started to throw them.

Well this had me thinking.. should I swab a traditional rifle as well. So I got a new target out.. and shot then swabbed, shot then swabbed.. on another corner I just shot six rounds. Sure enough, when I swabbed it did a much tighter more consistent group then an unswabbed shoot. I would have took pictures of those results, but the camera batteries when dead on me again. These rechargeables are great, but you get them in the cold they do not last.

It was 46 degrees, a slight few drops falling from time to time, over cast, and a little wind. The rifle is ready!! but I will swab between shots.

Old 11-07-2008, 01:41 PM