HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Black Powder (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder-23/)
-   -   Powder Pellets (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder/267970-powder-pellets.html)

Hoosier_Hunter1963 10-14-2008 05:51 AM

Powder Pellets

Guys,

I am a relative newbie to ML hunting. I have only used Pyrodex Pellets so far.

What's the differences between different types/brands of pellets? Cleaner? Hotter?

So far....2 Pyro 50gr. pellets with a SW 250gr sabot seems to work AWESOME!

saxman1 10-14-2008 07:50 AM

RE: Powder Pellets

Welcome.
I wont get into your question to much but you will get answers from those with much more know how than I
At this point being new and the season upon us,if pelletts are working well for you,use them.
They are easy to use.I find I get better accuracy with loose powder and I can taylor my charge to the bullett and primer I am using but I still use pelletts as well because I cleaned out the bargin bin at wally world.
There are so many variables that I will leave it at that.

What gun are you shooting will be one question you will get.
What type of game do you hunt and at what distance?
Will you be using your ML one week a year or will you be shooting allot?

cayugad 10-14-2008 08:18 AM

ORIGINAL: Hoosier_Hunter1963

Guys,

I am a relative newbie to ML hunting. I have only used Pyrodex Pellets so far.

What's the differences between different types/brands of pellets? Cleaner? Hotter?

So far....2 Pyro 50gr. pellets with a SW 250gr sabot seems to work AWESOME!
First off.. if you are getting AWESOME results with two Pyrodex 50 grain pellets and shockwaves.. STICK WITH THAT LOAD. That is an excellent hunting load. Or if you want to play with other powders, remember that load for your rifle and the results.