Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Two sweet spots ?? >

Two sweet spots ??

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Two sweet spots ??

Old 09-11-2008, 05:47 PM
Spike

Default Two sweet spots ??

Once again I feel I should preface my question with the fact that I'm new to muzzleloading so please excuse me if it's an ignorant question.

I did some experimenting today with my new TC Triumph. Shot Speer Gold Dots, 250gr, .452", along with Harvester 50/45 crushed rib sabots and Triple7 FFFG loose powder.

Started out at 100grains of powder; it shot pretty well. Went to 110gr, then 120gr, andmy groups began to open up a little more. Then tried105 and 95 grains before going back to 100 grains again. It seemed with this combination 100grains seemed to give the best accuracy.

Now, to my point. My TC powder measure only went up to 125grso I was a little unsure about continuing to try loadsabove 120gr. Should I have? Is it possible to find anotherhotter load that produces good accuracy with the same components?

Old 09-11-2008, 06:09 PM

Default RE: Two sweet spots ??

I'm no expert but since you don't have any replies...

Its been my experience that both of my rifles shoot best around 90-100gr of powder. It seems to me that if you try to push the bullet faster you pay for it with accuracy. Again, this is just from my experience. Some of the other guys around here that try alot of different loads could probablyverify this. If your rifle shoots good with 100gr. then thats what I'd shoot.
Old 09-11-2008, 06:13 PM
Boone & Crockett

Mossy - Welcome again. And the only stupid question is the one you don't ask.
IMO, in a 50 cal., anything over 100 gr is a waste of powder. If you are shooting good with 100 grs then stick with it. I would try dropping down to 80 grs and try it.