Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Newbie to Loose Powder >

Newbie to Loose Powder

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Newbie to Loose Powder

Old 08-20-2008, 01:10 PM

Default Newbie to Loose Powder

Hi all. I have been shooting muzzle loaders for quite a few years but I have always used pellets. With all this talk of BH209 I'm getting an itch to try it out. My only problem is I have no idea what to get or how to use it! I see flasks, powder measures, etc.

Since everyone in the BP forum has been so helpful in the past, could someone outline a few things I should pick up and how to measure the powder? I don't know if all loose powders are the same so will one measure be the same as another? How do you make sure all of the powder is seated near the breach? You know, all the basic stuff. LOL

I am using an Encore with a 50x209 barrel.

Thanks
Old 08-20-2008, 01:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Newbie to Loose Powder

Here is something I found on the Modern Muzzleloading forum from a very experianced shooter.
I have not used it yet as it is not available localy,I will have to order it but I will wait to get all the powders I need before I do because of the hazmat fee.I need to get together with others when they order and split the cost.

Blackhorn 209 VOLUME to WEIGHT calculator:

VOLUME in GRAINS BH209 / 1.5 = WEIGHT in GRAINS BH209

OR... VOLUME in GRAINS BH209 X 0.667 = WEIGHT in GRAINS BH209

Recommend cleaning supplies:

SO FAR...Hoppe's #9 Solvent is the best we've used for BH209 bore/action cleanup. Follow up with a good gun oil such as Birchwood-Casey Synthetic Gun Oil or Breakfree.

Old 08-20-2008, 01:29 PM
Boone & Crockett

OK G2 - Black Powder and its substitutes are measured in volume not weight. I figured you would know that but just to be sure.