HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Black Powder (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder-23/)
-   -   what traditional ml would be a good one to start with? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder/228984-what-traditional-ml-would-good-one-start.html)

rockyshamrock 01-24-2008 10:18 PM

what traditional ml would be a good one to start with?

I'm thinking about getting a traditional 50 or 54 cal ml. i have been hunting with a in line for 6 years now. i love it. just wanting to get some opinions on some of the rifles out there and which ones would be a good on to start with.

frontier gander 01-24-2008 10:39 PM

RE: what traditional ml would be a good one to start with?

lyman great plains rifle. If you want to shoot patched roundballs, Go with the bigger .54 caliber. Gives a bigger hole and thump at the recieving end.

midsouth sells the Kits for $300. I bought one and love it.

cayugad 01-24-2008 10:48 PM

A good rifle is a T/C Renegade in .54 caliber. It is a do it all rifle and there are some excellent drop in barrels you can purchase for it down the road if you find you like the traditional route. They are accurate, easy to take care of, and a great customer service. Keep watch on the auction sites. Good used ones are on there and can often times be had for around $175-$250. And since you're starting with traditional, stick with the percussion cap models for now. Later, you can play with flintlocks.

rockyshamrock 01-24-2008 10:59 PM

that was my next question. percussion or flint lock. i was leaning toward percussion but wasn't sure. what about the twist. what peep site would you use on either gun.

gleason.chapman 01-25-2008 04:00 AM

ORIGINAL: cayugad