Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Hoppes no 9 solvent >

Hoppes no 9 solvent

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Hoppes no 9 solvent

Old 04-22-2007, 07:36 PM

Default RE: Hoppes no 9 solvent

ORIGINAL: ejpaul1

I am new to blackpowder shooting/hunting and I didnt know which one to get to clean and lube. I have a traditions yukon and I bought this hoppes stuff. It says it is just dandy, but does anyone know about it? My pal uses wonderlube for his 1:66 ML and he loves it. SHould I use this? EJ
Hoppes No9 PLUS BP Solvent & Patch Lube is without question one of the best couple ofcommercial patch lube& cleaning solvents on the market.
(Not the regular Hoppes No9 gun cleaning solution that's been around for 50+ years)

Because "PLUS" is a liquid I personally use it every weekend as a patch lube during the cold winter months when it's dry with low humidity...lets me shoot 50 shot range sessions without wiping between shots...Natural Lube isn't wet enough to do that in very dry conditions...an outstandingpatch lube.

In the spring/summer when humidity is higher, I just use TC Natural Lube in my patches. (same product as Oxyoke wonder lube, both made by Oxyoke)

Natural Lube 1000 is all I've used forhunting over the past16+ years as I'm a little leery of having any kind of liquid patch lube sitting on my powder for several hours although it's probably fine...I just don't want to be the one to find out.
Old 04-23-2007, 06:41 AM
Nontypical Buck

Regular Hoppes # 9 has been around a lot longer than 50 years. I'm 60 and remember the smell of dad cleaning his shot gun with the stuff before I ever started school.

Al
Old 04-23-2007, 12:55 PM
Fork Horn

ORIGINAL: cayugad