HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Black Powder (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder-23/)
-   -   GM .54 Bore Size.................... (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder/188772-gm-54-bore-size.html)

Pioneer2 04-18-2007 12:46 PM

GM .54 Bore Size....................

I talked to a ladytoday atGM about the.54 GM barrel measurements.She told me that the bore is between .540-.542" and the groove is between .560-.564".They recommend patches between .015-.018".Also a .535 ball for hunting.Do you have to double the patch dia. and add it to the ball size?Seems a little tight to me but I'm still learning.I have a .530 mold so I'm hoping it's not usless.A buddy gave me 50 or so .535 balls to try.I can't fathom getting a .020 patch down the pipe.Any ideas what to order or loads for this barrel.Our local gun store has squat for BP stuff so I'm mailorder only.............Got a wack of snow today so I'm not sure if it's worth going bear hunting today as planned? Thanx Harold

cayugad 04-18-2007 02:04 PM

RE: GM .54 Bore Size....................

Remember when you figure the patch thickness you have to figure it twice since it wraps around both sides of the ball where it engages the barrel. So even with a .530 ball and .018 patch you have .530 + .018 + .018 = .566 which in a .560-.564 on the grove should still engage the rifling fine.

cayugad 04-18-2007 02:09 PM