Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Looking For Better Rifle >

Looking For Better Rifle

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Looking For Better Rifle

Old 11-21-2006, 10:13 AM
Fork Horn

Default Looking For Better Rifle

It's my first time on this Forum, so hello and hope everyone is having a good hunting season. I took my first roundball buck yesterday. I was using a Lyman 54. and 90 grainsblackpowder.It was something i've been after for a few years now so i'm still smiling. I got a question i'm hopingsomeone will be able to help me with. I bought a Remington 700 MLSwhen they first came out some years ago,andI've taken a few deer with it but it's hasn'tperformed likeI had hoped. Thought I would trade it in on one of the newer in-lines that have comeout. I want one I can use during the regular rifle as well as the blackpowder season here in Missouri. So I'm looking for one that will hit out to 150 yds or so and will hold up in wet weather for around 200.00 to 300.00 There's so many to choose from out there I thought I'd see if you guys might be able to narrow it down some. Thanks for any advice you may have.
Old 11-21-2006, 10:25 AM

Default RE: Looking For Better Rifle

Welcome to the forum. Well since there is so many to chose from in your price range it would be hard to give you just one recomendation. But i think your best bang for your buck is going to be a T/C omega. I have seen the Omega z5 and the thumbhole stock Omega here at my local walmart for $298.00 not a bad price at all. I personally do not own one i have a CVA wolf and it kills just as well as more expensive ML's out there. I only paid $134 for mine brand new. I get 2.5 inch groups at 100 yards all the time and thats with open sights. Another one i would recommend is the CVA kodiak or the optima pro.

Happy hunting.
Old 11-21-2006, 10:33 AM
Boone & Crockett

tkstae