Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Bore condition when stored vs. hunting >

Bore condition when stored vs. hunting

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Bore condition when stored vs. hunting

Old 10-25-2006, 03:27 PM
Fork Horn

Default Bore condition when stored vs. hunting

I am new to the BP world-recently bought the Omega and love the sport.

I clean between shots and have nice sub-dip can groups up to 60meters- 150gr 777 pellets 250g .50 ShockWave Super Glides-

Here is where my question actually starts:
Sfter shooting last time I throughly cleaned the rifle for storage-including running TC borebutter throught the bore and leaving it greased.

When shooting today I thought I had put enough dry patches through to get the greasy residue out-since Sabots call for dry bores.
First shot flew 8" high at 50m
Clean, Shoot hit back to my zero was at last range visit
Clean, Shoot (two more times) perfect 3shot zero

Now that I am cleaning I want to know what condition to leave the bore-the next time the rifle goes to the field it will be for meat, not paper-I don't want to have a 8" flyer when its a trophy.

I clean my bore with Cabelas brand citrus cleaner solvent-will I get fowling/corrosion in the bore if I just let the bore dry and store after cleaning it-and don't put the butter in there? How do you guys do it?

Old 10-25-2006, 03:41 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Bore condition when stored vs. hunting

Every gun is different so test first and be sure.
I use Sheath a light coat protects the bore and it is the only thing I have found that shoots on the aim point with that first shot. I used to clean with boiling water before hunting and go out with a clean barrel but always worried about flash rust. Lee
Old 10-25-2006, 05:36 PM
Fork Horn