Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Peep site

Old 12-26-2005, 02:41 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Peep site

I would like to put a peep sight on my TC Hawkins 50.
Which model of either Marble or Lyman should I look for to simplfi mounting.

Al
Old 12-26-2005, 03:22 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Peep site

On my Thompson Center I mounted a Thompson Center Peep sight and I really do like it. I have no experience with the ones you mentioned...
Old 12-26-2005, 07:13 PM
Spike

I have a Hawken and a Senaca, both have TC peepsites. I've had them on for almost 30 years and wouldn't put anything else on, I really like them.The older rifles tang was drilled and tapped for these sites I believe that TC dosen't do this anymore, you have to have it done.
Old 12-26-2005, 07:27 PM

I have the t/c hunter peep on my 50 cal. flinter what a difference in the group
I also re=drilled the peep hole to 1/64 and with a front fiber optic sight is the way to fly.I may also install a front lyman globe on the hawkens.
I also had a peep on my new englander which I just sold,my Renegade flinter has stock sight if a hunter peep comes my way I am going to mount it on the Renegade also.
Old 12-26-2005, 07:52 PM
Giant Nontypical

here in pa. you cant use a peep sight for late season hunting,so, RMC SPORTS made a V-PEEP SIGHT which is legal.item no. is ml-230-3 for tc hawkins .their site is www.rmcsports.com. look up v-peep sights.they are best i have ever had on my hawkens.you can change front bead color to red or green.i like front sight cause it is real small. complete set is 36 dollars ,well worth it.i love mine.
Old 12-28-2005, 07:03 AM
Giant Nontypical

ORIGINAL: sproulman