Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 new to muzzleloading need some help.. >

new to muzzleloading need some help..

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

new to muzzleloading need some help..

Old 12-10-2005, 04:07 PM

Default new to muzzleloading need some help..

hey guys im new to the sport of muzzleloading..i own a 45 cal. harrington and richardson huntsman open sight..i know the saying first the powder than the ball or it wont shoot at all..of course you put the powder in first..now lets say im going hunting..about how many grains of powder should i put in??..after the powder than goes the patch and the ball..correct me if im wrong on this?? also how many shots do you wanna have go through your gun before you clean it??..any help would be greatly appreciated..

thanks
Old 12-10-2005, 04:25 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: new to muzzleloading need some help..

If your shooting a H&R Huntsman you might not want to shoot patch and ball as the rifle has a 1-28 twist and are more likely to give you better accuracy shooting a sabot. Go to a Wal Mart and get some T/C Mag Express 240 grain XTP's. Take 85 grains of powder and dump down the barrel. Then seat a XTP on top of that and see what kind of accuracy you get. Swab the barrel between shots with a wet patch and then a couple dry ones, then load again. Depending on the powder you shoot the need to swab will vary.

If the 85 grains and an XTP gets good accuracy then push it up to 90 or even 100 grains and see how the groups hold. That would be about the limit of powder I would push down it. I think the rifle is rated to 150 grains of pellets but check you manual.

Roundballs work better out of 1-48 and slower twists. Your rifle will shoot roundball for fun. Put about 50 grains of powder down the barrel and then a patch and ball and see what happens if you want to shoot them...
Old 12-10-2005, 04:26 PM