Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

T/C Firestorm/777

Old 11-30-2005, 11:51 AM
Typical Buck

Default T/C Firestorm/777

Hey fellas, I'm new to the muzzleloading sport, only have one season under my belt. I recently picked up a TC Firestorm (Flintlock), and just wanted to ask a couple ?? about it. Can you use the 777 powder in this gun? I was thinking of trying it and maybe the APP powder, behind some Powerbelt bullets. The powerbelts show well out of my dad's hawken's last year for me, and I have some left over, so I'll start there. I did a search and found out some guys had some issues with the powerbelts behind the 777, but I couldn't figure out if it was powder/bullet issue, or an ignition issue.

If you have any experience with a Firestorm, I'd like to hear from you.

Mikey
Old 11-30-2005, 12:58 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: T/C Firestorm/777

With flintlocks you will need to at least use traditional black powder for priming and 5grains BPin the bore and then add your substitute powder.
You will find that substitutes will not ignite reliably for flint priming.

Example: 90grain load would be 5gr BP first and then 85 grain 777.

Frankly if you want reliable consistant ignition, stick with black powder for the flintlock.

You could go with FFFG Black Powder (Swiss is my preferance, but Goex is good). Use the 3FG as your main charge and then grind small amounts of 3FG between your finger tips for priming powder. Or buy 4FG (FFFFG) for priming.

Great source for black powder from 4 pounds on up:
www.powderinc.com

Good luck,

Tahquamenon
Old 11-30-2005, 01:08 PM
Dominant Buck