Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 First Timer Looking for Black Powder Rifle >

First Timer Looking for Black Powder Rifle

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

First Timer Looking for Black Powder Rifle

Old 08-04-2005, 05:11 AM
Spike

Default First Timer Looking for Black Powder Rifle

I have been hunting for many years, but have never hunted or owned a Black Powder Rifle. I would like to purchase one for the upcoming season and spend some time on the range sighting it in. To be honest I am lost on what to purchase. Every shop, magazine or commercial tells me something different and whats good and bad.

I don't mind spending the money for something of good quality as I plan on having it a long time. I want something that will keep the powder dry and has ease of loading as I never even used Black Powder before.

Any suggestions would be helpful. I will be using this rifle for deer.
Old 08-04-2005, 06:06 AM

Default RE: First Timer Looking for Black Powder Rifle

one of the new brake open would be what I would get , if I didn't already have one.
Knight ; TC ; Traditions ; they are all good guns.

welcome to the world of coal burners.
Old 08-04-2005, 07:45 AM
Dominant Buck

It would help if we knew if your state has any special requirements for their black powder rifles seasons. Some states do not allow closed breech, some demand no sabots. All of this would make a difference.

I will guess you want an inline rifle. I will also guess that your State does not have any special requirements. I will also guess you have other center fire rifles to use in the modern season. So that makes it a lot easier to recommend something.