Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 What's the Difference? >

What's the Difference?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

What's the Difference?

Old 08-06-2005, 01:42 PM
Typical Buck

Default What's the Difference?

Ok all you muzzleloader experts, help me.
I just got into ML last year, was using pyrodex and 777 pellets. This year I bought a pound of 777. Today I got my powder scales out and measured out 85 grns of 777, and then 100 grns of same. When I got the scales right for 100 grns of 777, I then got out two (2) 777 pellets, each was 50 grns for a total of 100 grns. As I said, I had the scales set for 100 grns of 777 granular, when I put the two (2) pellets (each 50 grns) on the scale, they wouldn't move the scale, indicating that they weighed less than the granular 777.
I'm new to ML, but not reloading, so what gives. Is the difference, that the two (2) pellets of powder are more compressed. Need some guidance before I go any farther.

Thank You,
dog1
Old 08-06-2005, 01:56 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: What's the Difference?

ORIGINAL: dog1

Ok all you muzzleloader experts, help me.
I just got into ML last year, was using pyrodex and 777 pellets. This year I bought a pound of 777. Today I got my powder scales out and measured out 85 grns of 777, and then 100 grns of same. When I got the scales right for 100 grns of 777, I then got out two (2) 777 pellets, each was 50 grns for a total of 100 grns. As I said, I had the scales set for 100 grns of 777 granular, when I put the two (2) pellets (each 50 grns) on the scale, they wouldn't move the scale, indicating that they weighed less than the granular 777.
I'm new to ML, but not reloading, so what gives. Is the difference, that the two (2) pellets of powder are more compressed. Need some guidance before I go any farther.

Thank You,
dog1