HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Black Powder (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder-23/)
-   -   Newbe w/ lots of Questions! (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder/103347-newbe-w-lots-questions.html)

Blue Moose CO 06-19-2005 09:30 PM

Newbe w/ lots of Questions!

I am brand new to muzzleloaders, but finally got a chance to get into the sport. I've been reading lots of post from the forum and have learned alot in a short time.

I was wondering if someone could giveme some basic tips on what todo before, during and after I go to the range? I have a Cabela's .54 cal. Hawkens with percussion cap. I have the start-up kit, a jug of Pryodex Select powder, roundball and patches, and a box of T/C maxi-ball (430 gr.).

Any and all information would be appreciated.

Thanks!!!
Blue Moose

i shoot stuff 06-19-2005 09:35 PM

RE: Newbe w/ lots of Questions!

well your not giving us much to go on. i dont know that much but i know a little bit. give us some questions u want ansewered

cayugad 06-19-2005 10:13 PM

The Cabela's Hawkins is made by Investarms. They are a good rifle. They are very similar to Lyman rifles since they are made by the same company. It has a 1:48 twist and a 28 inch barrel.

Before you shoot the rifle, clean it real well. Make sure the rifle is good and clean. Then swab the barrel with a patch dampened with isopropyl alcohol. This will make sure the rifle barrel is clean. Then run a dry patch or two down the barrel. Next pop a couple #11 caps through the nipple before you load it. This will blow any crud out of the nipple and fire channel.