Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Africa Hunting

Old 03-01-2005, 02:16 PM

Default Africa Hunting

Hi There!

Just thinking of starting a conversation on African big game hunting, plains game hunting, African calibers etc. Is there anyone out there that might be interested in chatting or asking questions on African hunting. I have been hunting in Africa for more than 25 years and professionally for just over 11 years. Let's hear it!
Old 03-01-2005, 08:14 PM

Default RE: Africa Hunting

I am very facinated by the Cape Buffalo. Do you have any pics that i could see? Also what is the most interesting animal you have ever taken in Africa?
Old 03-01-2005, 10:03 PM

is'nt it pretty spendy to hunt down there. and can you even eat some of those animals.
Old 03-02-2005, 06:44 AM

I did a 7 day hunt excluding airfare, for less than a guided elk hunt. $2995 for Africa. I think Africa is the best deal going right now.
Old 03-03-2005, 12:10 AM

Hippos

are hippos hunted in Africa. You hear about all these other dangerous animals being hunting but nothing about hippos. If my wildlife biology serves me right them things are nearly all meat and dangerous to boot. Why don't we hear of hippo hunts?
Old 03-03-2005, 08:57 AM
Fork Horn

I saw a hippo hunt on one of the shows on the Outdoor Channel a couple of months ago. Pretty intense stuff. At one point a big bull charged out of the water right at the guys before stopping just short, looked terrifying! They say the only fair way to hunt them is to get them on land. I guess shooting them in the water is not very sporting. Capstick said that hippo is some of the best meat in Africa. I'd like to find out some day.
Old 03-03-2005, 02:46 PM
Nontypical Buck

I have always wanted to hunt in Africa, but I guess I need to wait until I am older!
I know that if you really want some great conversation on hunting in africa go to the accuratereloading forums.