Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

bear and the ole 06

Old 07-31-2004, 10:28 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default bear and the ole 06

ok my buddy gave me the invite to goto his camp with him and his family and bear hunt this year....typical PA black bears....100-800lbs i guess....who knows.....dont matter to me its my first year going bear hunting if i do go...i ahve to make sure i have the cash to go because deer season is the week after so thats half a month of no work....so i gota have money for the bills when im back......but i want to go so im saving......i will take the 3006 on my trip......i want to shoot 150gr nosler ballistic tips for deer this year....so will that drop a bear for me?? dad uses 165s for deer and i say they can open up more....so i was going to drop to 150s and see what they do.....but if i need something bigger ill shot something bigger....or a diffrent bullet......i want something that will work on bears and drop deer like a brike also......being i will come home for thanksgiving and wash my clothes and pack back up and head back to the mountains where i belong i wont have time to sight my rifle in with diffrent bullets.....so what do you guys recomend if i go?? the chance of me seeing a bear isnt even THAT good...but i dont want to have the wrong bullet to do the job if i do see one......i want a one shot kill that drops it or leaves good blood and it doesnt make it far at all being i will probably have other hunters around......thanx guys
Old 08-01-2004, 12:01 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: bear and the ole 06