HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   tipping your guide (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/64628-tipping-your-guide.html)

utahhntr 06-27-2004 04:00 PM

tipping your guide

just wondering how everyone goes about tipping there guide.is there a set %, how much is to little or to much.

Bob H in NH 06-28-2004 02:11 PM

RE: tipping your guide

Whatever you are comfy with, and don't forget others, like the cook.

"common" answers are going to be 15%, but that is pretty high, 15% on a $3000 hunt is $450.

Tim Buma 06-28-2004 06:04 PM

I am a professional hunting & fishing guide.
I've found 10% is the loose guideline. Generally it should be based on how hard your guide has worked for you, and what lengths has he/she gone to to make your hunting experience meet/exceed your expectations.
Also how experienced are they and how tuned in are they to knowing what your needs are and understanding the animals that you are hunting.
How is their risk assessment and are they 100% concerned for your safety and comfort at all times. How good are they at matching your ability/fitness to the hunting situation.
I guide hunters from many countries, some do not beleive in tipping at all.(Especially europeons.)

Remember that often guides receive minimal wages from their outfitters, and rely on tips to make a living.
I do beleive that tips should be earned and not just an expected add-on cost.
Regards

Tim Buma
New Zealand Back Country Outfitters Ltd

BobCo19-65 06-29-2004 12:40 PM

Tim, what would you expect to get if you were guiding two people at the same time. Say total cost for both hunters was arounf $7,000?

rather_be_huntin 06-29-2004 02:46 PM