Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

New Zealand

Old 02-05-2021, 06:51 AM
Spike

Default New Zealand

I'm curious if anyone has experience hunting public land DIY in New Zealand.

When I graduated college last spring I wanted to take a few years to explore before getting bogged down by a real job. I moved out west to work on a ranch for a few months and hunt elk. I plan on going back there this summer and fall. Next winter, however, I'm seriously considering moving to New Zealand for a few months and trying to do something similar; get a job and do some hunting and fishing. I have a few buddies who have spent time in New Zealand but neither of them did much hunting over there. It's hard to find a whole lot of information online about DIY hunting out there.

If anyone has been out there or knows some areas that have lots of public land and descent hunting opportunities for Red Deer, Fallow Deer, Tahr, Chamois, Pigs, etc. that'd be great. It'd be a lot easier to start looking for jobs if I had it narrowed down to a few towns rather then just blindly looking for any jobs.
Old 02-05-2021, 02:21 PM
Fork Horn

Can not help you regarding NZ, but more power to you, sounds like a good plan!
Old 02-05-2021, 03:28 PM
Nontypical Buck

I would suggest contacting the NZ tourism department , I would gather they can surely get you in the right direction
the question would be for me, is what PUBLIC lands are open to hunting there?
as without having public access, the hunting part might not even be an option!

Old 02-05-2021, 03:39 PM
Nontypical Buck

pretty simple to find info fo me> took me seconds to find these??

and your a college grad and couln't find this stuff?? LOL
OH BOY

SO?? have you looked here??

https://www.doc.govt.nz/parks-and-re...to-do/hunting/

OR THIS??

https://www.outdoorlife.com/hunting-...n-new-zealand/

OR this??

https://www.firstlite.com/blogs/camp...e-south-island
Old 02-05-2021, 06:03 PM