Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

First elk hunt questions

Old 07-04-2020, 09:04 AM
Spike

Default First elk hunt questions

I am in the midwest (St. Louis) and I am looking for the closest place to bag an elk. This would not be a trophy hunt, cow hunt with only meat in mind. Also don't want to break the bank, but would like a reasonable opportunity to kill a decent cow. I have been hunting for 40 years and have never done a pay-to-play, but would not be completely against it. Any and all advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
Old 07-04-2020, 10:12 AM
Nontypical Buck

I would start looking at states that have over the counter tags, as getting a tag might be harder to do, than just finding a place closest to you might be!

and are you wanting to do a self guided hunt, or hire someone to take you hunting for things?

might be worth emailing some outfitters where tags are over the counter and asking if they do Cow hunts, as many ranches do try to control numbers this way and make a few bucks at the same time, but will get you on more prime land, with higher odds of filling tags,
unless again you wish to do the whole hunt yourself, then?? and if planning to do hunt yourself, are you sure you have all needed gear and skills and physical conditioning to get a downed elk out!
Old 07-04-2020, 01:44 PM
Super Moderator

The are cow hunts posted on the classifieds here with very reasonable prices imo. Basically paying trespass fee onto private property.

There are also otc cow tags available in various places that can provide a challenging hunt with a decent chance of success.

One thing to plan for is getting it out of the woods. They are significantly bigger than a whitetail. You won't just tie a rope to it and walk back to your truck.

Good luck!

-Jake
Old 07-09-2020, 09:17 AM
Nontypical Buck