Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Unit 54....Whatcha got?

Old 12-26-2014, 09:04 AM
Typical Buck

Default Unit 54....Whatcha got?

The annoying flatlander is back....lol.

I'm studying Unit 54....West Elk Basin, The Castles, Mill Basin.

Will herds still be at these elevations first rifle? Does it all depend on pressure/weather?

Would I be better off just calling the dang hunt planner number?

Muchas gracias.
Old 12-26-2014, 10:11 AM
Giant Nontypical

It will be very dependent on the weather that time of year.

Last edited by Muley Hunter; 12-26-2014 at 10:49 AM.
Old 12-26-2014, 10:46 AM
Banned

If you can make a trip in the winter to the area it is sometimes as usefull as a scouting trip in the summer. I say this because if you can locate them in the winter then you know where they are trying to reach come fall and all you hve left is to find thier migration route to the area you located them in the winter. hopefully that makes sense. good luck and why 54?
Old 12-26-2014, 10:51 AM
Giant Nontypical

The way I find the migration routes is to watch them in the spring when they go up. Most of the time they'll come back down the same way.

The weather is much kinder in the spring watching them than in the winter when they come down.
Old 12-26-2014, 11:31 AM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by dan87bh
If you can make a trip in the winter to the area it is sometimes as usefull as a scouting trip in the summer. I say this because if you can locate them in the winter then you know where they are trying to reach come fall and all you hve left is to find thier migration route to the area you located them in the winter. hopefully that makes sense. good luck and why 54?