HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   Colorado Area 61 Elk (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/395674-colorado-area-61-elk.html)

RCIII 11-16-2014 05:11 PM

Colorado Area 61 Elk

Afters 21 years of applying for preference points in hopes of drawing area 201 my brother (from PA) and I (CO resident) officially are giving up due to the infamous "point creep". We are now going to try to draw a muzzle-loading tag in area 61. I just joined the Hunting Net site and any suggestions would be appreciated. thanks

flags 11-17-2014 05:21 AM

If you have 21 points, you're foolish to dump them on a lesser unit. Heck, I'm a CO resident with 20 points and I can't draw a unit 2 tag for the early season. But I'm sure not tossing them away for a lesser hunt.

But, to each his own.

RCIII 11-17-2014 06:23 AM

Yeah I know - really torn as to what to do. I'm 60 years years old, 61 next hunting season, and in great shape but things can change quickly (9 year cancer survivor). I want a 300+ class bull before the good Lord calls me to the promised land if you know what I mean.

flags 11-17-2014 06:45 AM

Originally Posted by RCIII (Post 4170162)
Yeah I know - really torn as to what to do. I'm 60 years years old, 61 next hunting season, and in great shape but things can change quickly (9 year cancer survivor). I want a 300+ class bull before the good Lord calls me to the promised land if you know what I mean.

Might want to check into the unit 10 X code hunts. think they have 2 of them. What the x code hunts do is get you on private ranches that have agreed to allow public hunters. These ranches would be ones that don't quite make the cut for the Ranching For Wildlife Program (which as a non-resident you're not eligible for) but still want to allow public hunting in a controlled manner.