Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
How do you hunt or fight off a damn near perfect predator/hunter? >

How do you hunt or fight off a damn near perfect predator/hunter?

Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

How do you hunt or fight off a damn near perfect predator/hunter?

Old 01-03-2013, 09:21 PM
Spike

Default How do you hunt or fight off a damn near perfect predator/hunter?

Say your hunting and have the misfortune of accidently making mad (like shooting at a deer and end up grazing a mountain lion) or coming across an animal that could tear you to pieces and is pretty much hunting you because it's ticked or just wants you for dinner.

How do you fight it off or get away especially if it's a darn near perfect hunter in it's own right?

Last edited by JW; 01-04-2013 at 08:00 AM. Reason: poor language - JW
Old 01-03-2013, 09:47 PM
Fork Horn

haha im no expert and have no experience fending off predators, though id like to one day fight a bear with a knife and win. However, correct me if im wrong, but you should try to kill it before it kills you(knife, gun, sticks, rocks, bare hands). Or try to make yourself look as big as possible so that they dont want to mess with you, if they do get you on the ground, play dead so that they dont see you as a threat. I would use running away or turning your back as a last choice as most predators response is to give chase. FYI none of these guarantee your safety, its just possible solutions that may or may not work.

Preventative measures might be good, like taking an overweight friend along, all you need to do is run faster than him.
Old 01-04-2013, 03:25 AM
Nontypical Buck