HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   Elk hunting sw. CO (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/368130-elk-hunting-sw-co.html)

lak2004 07-31-2012 05:50 PM

Elk hunting sw. CO

Drew a either sex tag for unit 75,751 for 1st season rifle. This is my first time elk hunting so i am in search of a mentor of sorts. Havent hunted a whole lot, but i am ready to put in the effort. If anyone is in the durango area and is interested in helping me out a little, please let me know. Thanks

Alsatian 08-01-2012 01:13 PM

First season the elk are generally up high -- between 10500' and 12500', maybe most particularly between 11000' and 12000'. Talk to the biologist at the Ranger Station in Durango -- call him on the phone -- ask him for some suggestions. Maybe he has a good place in mind for you.

Alsatian 08-02-2012 11:39 AM

Looking at your profile next to your post, you look like you live in Durango. I bet if you get out there and befriend a few locals you can get some tips. Go down to Gardenswartz on main street and chat up the clerks during slow time. Talk to cooks in restaurants. Go to a rifle range and talk to other shooters. You're bound to bump into someone who can give you some hints. Be careful about asking for a specific hot spot, as they may wish to keep their best place secret. Sometimes, though, they aren't averse to pointing you to a general area. If you have a general area that seems promising, then go out there and scout on weekends. Finding a good elk hunting spot is about putting in some sole searching hours . . . and that wasn't a typo! I mean walkin the mountains with your eyes looking for sign. Talk to that biologist in Durango.

lak2004 08-02-2012 03:04 PM