HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   Help - 6 day guided bear hunt = skunk (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/367188-help-6-day-guided-bear-hunt-skunk.html)

BarnesX.308 07-03-2012 07:42 PM

Help - 6 day guided bear hunt = skunk

I took my son and my dad to an outfitter in Quebec for a little get away. I got a bear license and my 9 (almost 10) year old son and I went bear hunting. We spent 6 days in the stand and saw nothing. 5:00-10:00pm each night.

I've been taking my boy deer hunting with me since he was 6 so he knows how to be quiet and still. And this time he was as good as I could expect.

The outfitter has 90% kill and 97% sighting. The other 6 hunters shot their bears by Tuesday.

What did we do wrong? I've been hunting for 30 years. Bow-killed good bucks. Even shot PA bear with no bait or hound. How could a slam dunk turn into a complete bust?

Was my kid more fidgety than I thought. The visibility was about 2 inches and bears have poor eyesight. I would say hearing was a possibility but, the flies and mosquitos made quite the cover-sound.

I'm just wondering if this was a once in a billion fluke or whether me and the kid aren't stealthy enough to hunt baited bears.

Anyone have any insight?

Thanks

wyomingtrapper 07-03-2012 07:59 PM

Same bait or different baits? Was/were the bait/s being hit before you arrived and were they being hit at night when you weren't there?

BarnesX.308 07-03-2012 08:18 PM

Day 1 & 2 = one bait

Day 3 & 4 = another bait

Day 5 = a third bait

Day 6 = a fourth bait

Baits were empty each day. I assume they got hit at night.

But, other hunters got bear. Some at 6:30, 7:00 and 8:00. Shooting ended at 9:45.

At home, bears are not timid. They juat lay down and eat.

Blackelk 07-04-2012 01:16 AM