Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Why do people hunt bears?

Old 08-09-2011, 04:59 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by Muley Hunter
I do still hunting. It's moving very slowly through the timber. Trying to spot game, before they see you. I've been hunting like that for 60 years, and I haven't got tired of it.

I'm thinking I probably won't at this point.
Not to be a smart a$$, but still hunting through the woods here and they will find you years later looking like a gun and bones, because getting lost is not hard at all. There is no openings and fields here when you get in the woods, its all rock, trees, ridges, swamps, rivers, more rocks, more swamps and it all looks the same for hundreds of miles...
Old 08-09-2011, 05:43 AM
Spike

When people duck hunt they throw out decoys, when people deer hunt they throw out decoys..... it's kinda the same thing. "your friends are down here come join". This will be my third year bear hunting in MN, it's legal to bait here. I've baited the past three years and hunted very hard but haven't got a bear to show up when i'm in the stand yet... i have a cuddeback up and have some great pictures of 3-4 different bears hitting my bait. So it's not as easy as they make it look. throw out some bacon and every bear in the woods will come running isn't true.
Old 08-09-2011, 07:39 AM
Giant Nontypical

How did I know the thread would go like this. Very predictable. Even though I stated more than once. I don't give a rats arse how you hunt. How many times do I have to say that?

A lot of assumptions going on here.

One of them is i've never hunted bears, and I don't know anything about baiting.

Another is i've always lived in the west, and never hunted/lived in other states.

Another for the record. Spot and stalk is NOT still hunting. So, i'll assume those who said that don't know what either is.