HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   Big Game Hunting Books (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/347001-big-game-hunting-books.html)

Murdy 07-19-2011 07:00 PM

Big Game Hunting Books

I am completely new to hunting big game out west. Have been a midwest white tail hunter all my life. So, I'm looking to get into it and trying to figure things out. I was wondering if anyone had any books to recommend to a newbie. I've been looking at the following online, and trying to decide which one to order:
-The Ultimate Guide to Elk Hunting by Bob Robb and Gerald Bethge
-Jumpstart Elk Hunting: The Everyday Hunter's Guide to Cutting Through the Bull by Brian E Baldwin
-The Complete Book of Elk Hunting: Tips and Tactics for All Weather and Habitat Conditions (Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation) by Sam Curtis
-Ultimate Elk Hunting: Strategies, Techniques & Methods (The Complete Hunter) by Jay Houston
Anyone familiar with any of these, and would you recommend any (or anything else not listed).
Also, would anyone recommend a book about muleys or antelopes?
Any help will be appreciated.

wyomingtrapper 07-19-2011 08:07 PM

I can't recommend a particular book relative to elk hunting, but when I was just getting into it I went to the local library and read everything I could find about elk hunting in current and past issues of outdoors magazines. It definitely shortened the learning curve.

Murdy 07-21-2011 01:15 PM

Thanks for the input, these days, the internet makes that sort of research a lot easier too. Anyways, just ordered the first one I listed above.

wyomingtrapper 07-21-2011 06:17 PM

Reading over your original post again, I see I read it specific to elk. Relative to mule deer:
Public Land Mulies, David Long
Mule Deer Trophies, VanNorman & Carpenter
Hunting Open Country Mule Deer, Dwight Schuh
Mule Deer Quest, Walt Prothero