HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   Sheep / Goat Hunt? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/343505-sheep-goat-hunt.html)

salukipv1 04-17-2011 09:49 AM

Sheep / Goat Hunt?

Who out there has hunted bighorn sheep or mountain goat?

Were you in sheep shape?

AK? Canada? Lower 48?

I'm trying to draw a goat tag this year, but with few pts it's mostly a crossing of the fingers year...

Without drawing the tag, it seems like the most reasonable sheep/goat hunts are in AK.

Share any of your stories...include the caliber used and shot distance.

elkdeerbear 04-21-2011 04:29 PM

What state are you sending for? I got 9 points for sheep and 9 points for goat. I'm a Colorado resident. Draw results are suppossed to be posted by May 6th. I shot a ewe sheep in 1998 on Pikes Peak. Used my 270 Winchester. 1 shot at about 60-70 yards. If I draw the sheep or goat tag this year I'll be using my 300 Remington Ultra Magnum with Nosler Partitions.

aaalaska 04-22-2011 07:05 PM

Problem with Ak sheep & goat require you to hire a guide, as a NR.
Alex

salukipv1 04-22-2011 07:53 PM

Originally Posted by aaalaska (Post 3801246)
Problem with Ak sheep & goat require you to hire a guide, as a NR.
Alex

chump change... :party0007:

haha oh just kidding!

I hear a reasonable dall sheep hunt in AK is $7k, which in the world of sheep hunting can be "cheap" I know some desert sheep hunts are $50k, I think some bighorn are $20k+

salukipv1 04-22-2011 07:55 PM

Originally Posted by elkdeerbear (Post 3800904)