HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   Archery antelope tips and tricks (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/324941-archery-antelope-tips-tricks.html)

Archeryresearchshooter 06-24-2010 06:48 PM

Archery antelope tips and tricks

Hey guys and gals, lets here some things that have worked for you. Im new to the game of Pronghorn hunting(last year was my maiden voyage). I was unsuccessful but had lots of fun and action. Its in my blood!

Howler 06-25-2010 06:07 PM

If playing the spot and stalk game, I always look for loner animals. One on one almost gives a guy a chance to be successful.
If placing a blind at a known fence crossing, set the blind up several weeks in advance, otherwise they seem to avoid them like the plague. Water holes, in a dry year with very little water available, seem to be different. They have to have water, and they will approach because they simply have to, even if the blind has only been up for a short period of time.
Decoying will work, IF they are into the rut. Otherwise, the decoy is a waste of time.
Be preppared for long shots. My last two archery spot and stalk kills were 61 yards and 49 yards.

Blackelk 06-25-2010 06:31 PM

Good points Howler,

Traveling routes and water holes are for sure better odds than most. Spot and stalk is how I've always hunted them. I have only taken two bucks with a bow so far. I've hunted them five times during archery seasons.

I'd say just learn to shoot your matthew's 500yds and your in the money. LOL

salukipv1 06-25-2010 10:52 PM

I just read an article on archery antelope, the guy basically was saying wait until the bucks are in the rut chasing does to decoy/stalk them.

Howler 06-26-2010 05:48 AM