Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

moose

Old 12-06-2009, 07:37 PM
bigcountry

Yep, thats a real moose horn. Dadgone rak, you don't know much about 1 year moose do you?

Old 12-06-2009, 07:57 PM
RAK
Spike

Originally Posted by bigcountry
Yep, thats a real moose horn. Dadgone rak, you don't know much about 1 year moose do you?
No, I don't know.

I just learned something...

I am new to big game.

Now I know!
Old 12-06-2009, 09:48 PM
Typical Buck

That would, indeed, be a yearling moose. Here in British Columbia, one restriction that is used in many areas is that a moose have no more than 2 points on at least one antler; such moose are referred to as spike/fork bulls. This regulation is used to prevent the killing of the more mature breeding bulls and about 20% of yearlings have 2-point or smaller antlers. The other 80% generally have small 3 or 4 point sides, and often there is very little palmation.
Old 12-07-2009, 04:20 AM
Giant Nontypical

pretty cool... nice find and encounter...cool that you got the pic off the moose w/ one horn and his shed...
Old 12-07-2009, 04:16 PM
Boone & Crockett

I agree with the nice find as well as the moose pic with one antler.. There is really no set rule on how a moose will grow it's antlers.. A couple of years a go a 2 pointer was shot that was a big sized moose. His antlers were long and solid but it was lacking any other points.. Here is the pic of the antlers of mine shot this past fall. It is also a 4 pointer but they grew different than the one you have shown.

Old 12-10-2009, 03:10 PM
Typical Buck

correction ...moose shot in the fall are all 1 1/2 or 2 1/2 or 3 1/2 ecttttt . old .they are born in the spring so by fall have aged approximatly 6 months and have just a small bump on they're head where the antlers will later show ..at 1 1/2 years old they have spikes or forks ....
Old 12-15-2009, 08:31 PM
Spike