HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   Help choosing a hunting rifle (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/294483-help-choosing-hunting-rifle.html)

Jazzy41 05-20-2009 06:49 PM

Help choosing a hunting rifle

I am new to hunting and was wondering what would be a good rifle to start out with. I have looked atseveral 30-06 but am unsure what route to go, either bolt action or semi-auto. As far as brands, not sure if I want a Marlin XL-7, a Stevens, a Ruger M77, a Remington, or Mossenberg 4x4......I have also been told to check into a REM 7MM. Any advice would be greatly appreciate. I was told that just because a rifle is a cheaper price like the Marlin, doesn't mean that it is a bad gun...

KonaBoy 05-20-2009 07:02 PM

RE: Help choosing a hunting rifle

If you don't have one already, buy a .22 first and get the shooting basics down. The absolute worst thing you can do is to buy a gun with too much recoil right off the bat. If you have a .22, ignore that ;) The 06' will handle anything in N.A. with the proper bullets. However, if you're only going to be shooting deer, you'd be just as well off with something smaller like a .270. Either one are "standards" that have proven track records. As for a rifle choice, Steven's have an excellent reputation for excellent out of the box shooters. Hope this helps,

Cory

ADV. Hunter 05-20-2009 07:05 PM

That is my opinion too jazzy; just because it doesn't sell for 800-900 dollars doesn't mean it is bad. Personally I have a mossberg 100 ATR and it is super accurate. I got rid of my other Winchester model 70 feather weight in 300 win mag after buying this rifle, I love it in 270. If I were to buy a mag rifle again I believe it would be in 7mm.

Jazzy41 05-20-2009 07:14 PM

I would like to have something that I can also hunt Elk with in the future.Is a 7mm to much? Thanks for the advice.