Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

I got the green light!!!!

Old 12-19-2008, 05:27 PM
Fork Horn

Default I got the green light!!!!

Well even though my wife hates hunting, hates guns and hates spending money (this last one I don't mind so much) she's given me the green light to get the Browning BLR that I've been drooling over for the last 2-3 years.

I have a Marlin30-30 anda 1950's era Husquvarna in 270 win. My son (14 yrs) and I hunt mule deer here in CO and I will go on my first Elk hunt next year. My son will follow, I'm sure. All my shots so far have been well inside of 200 yds, but I still prefer something that shoots fairly flat out to 300 yds, because 300 is my personal ethical limit and don't like thinking too much about drop.

I considered the BLR in 30-06, 270win, 308, 300 WSM and 270 WSM. I was disappointed but I ruled out the long action 30-06 and 270 win because the long action just doesn't fit me. I love the feel of the BLR in 308 but I did some math on the ballistics of the 308 and in the 20" barrel of the BLR and it didn't look so good. It really drops after 200 yds. I really like the versatility of the 300 WSM, but I'm very concerned about the recoil of this round in the light weight BLR. I'm not overly recoil sensitive but I prefer to go toward lighter recoil. I just don't want to hate shooting my big investment and I understand from a few owners that these guns have a pretty stout kick to start with. I am also a bit concerned about the price of ammo for the WSMs. There isn't a cheap alternative other than reloading, but I have a reloader my brother gave me and I figure that I can buy dies and reload once I build up some brass. I'm hoping that ammo doesn't continue to go up in $$$$.