HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   Wyoming Non Resident Elk Drawing (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/278788-wyoming-non-resident-elk-drawing.html)

riverviewringnecks 12-16-2008 01:37 PM

Wyoming Non Resident Elk Drawing

Well I guess its about time for the annual frustrationof trying to draw a Non Resident elk tag in Wyoming again. I have a buddy that owes me an elk hunt in Wyoming and I have been applying now for 6 years with no success. The first three years were before the prefference point system and the last three with it. I have the max pref. points (3) going into the draw again this year but am beating my self up over the application process. After reading my MRS section in my Eastmans Hunting Journal I just get pissed off. In the unit my buddy has land to hunt they are estimating it will take aprox. 7 points to assure yourself a tag at the regular $641. This is what I have always put in for. Last year with max points it was a 13% draw odd. My problem is the MRS section says with 4 point you would be assured of a tag if you put in for the special tag at $1121. By doing this you had a 25% chance of drawing a tag last year. Is it just me or is anyone else upset with this process. They keep about $75 of my money for preference point and application fee and then reward you if you dont feel you have given them enough of your money and want to buy the $1121 tag. How greedy do they need to get? They either nickle and dime you to death if you keep applying for the $641 tag or just bite the bullet and spend the $1121 and get it over with.

salukipv1 12-16-2008 02:15 PM

RE: Wyoming Non Resident Elk Drawing

Consider what it would cost you extra to buy another 3-4yrs worth of pts...