HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   Help w/judging...please (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/273493-help-w-judging-please.html)

MILLERTIME10 11-13-2008 10:14 PM

Help w/judging...please

Just thought I would ask the experienced ones on this issue. I am just a southern hunter that chase whitetails the majority of the time. I have been working in west central Wyoming for the past three months and have seen a great deal of wildlife. One thing I am not sure about, is how to tell the difference between adecent antelope/deer and a trophy one. I have no experience on field judging these animals and don't really know where to start.I thought you guys might be able tohelp me. I will post pictures of some of the biggest one's I have seen and been able to take pictures of. In my opinion, I think they all would be shooter's, but what do you all think?

Thanks for your time,
Trent

npaden 11-13-2008 11:09 PM

RE: Help w/judging...please

You're going to have to define what a shooter is to you. Most of those would be shooters for me but most of those would not make B&C minimum.

MTMountainMan 11-14-2008 05:45 AM

Shoot man shoot!

If you are looking for a Booner, learn to do the math. I don't like to do math while I'm in the field, so just shoot! Try not to tag out right away though, because that's kind of a bummer :(

TEmbry 11-14-2008 05:46 AM

Score is something better left for after the shot.:D

To me personally, everyone of those is a shooter...the antelope in the back is a bruiser...as are a few bucks.

ALL of them are BIG to me though, which is all that matters...are they big to you?

Champlain Islander 11-14-2008 06:01 AM

They are all nice animals and are shooters unless you are stuck on getting a B&C. Great pictures.

sclwald 11-14-2008 07:12 AM