HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   What's in your daypack? What's back at camp? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/262448-whats-your-daypack-whats-back-camp.html)

npaden 09-10-2008 10:55 AM

What's in your daypack? What's back at camp?

Okay, not trying to come off like a complete newbie here, I'm just really getting pumped up for my upcoming Wyoming Wilderness Elk hunt and am going through the list of stuff that I'm going to be packing. We will be staying in a travel trailer pulled 40 miles off pavement to start and packing out daily from there,generally driving a short distance to a trail head each morning.

I've hunted a lot growing up, but it was always unorganized and sometimes we had what we needed, but a lot of times we just made due with what we had. Now that I have to drive 1,000+ miles to go on an elk hunt instead of less than 100 miles I'm trying to be a little more organized.

I'm planning on using a fanny pack and a daypack with the shoulder straps that latch together and a waist strap. The daypack has a removable internal frame and will hopefully double as a meat pack on the first trip out and then my friend has some pack frames to haul the hindquarters out with.

Of course I will have my 7mm Rem Mag with 160gr Winchester Supreme loaded with Accubonds. I'll have 3 rounds in the clip and 4 rounds in the Butler Creek Alaskan Magnum shoulder sling. I'll have my Nikon Monarch 10x42 Binoculars with a crooked horn strap system and I will have a bear spray canister holstered (this area isserious grizzly territory).

I like to use a fanny pack and day pack and put things in the fanny pack that I need to get to without having to take my pack off my back. In my fanny pack I'll have my Gerber knife and sharpener, range finder, gps, hoochie mama cow call, head lamp and a few snacks.