Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Elk & A Full Moon

Old 08-22-2008, 08:42 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Elk & A Full Moon

Heading to Colorado for archery Elk the 3rd wk of season. This was orginally suppose to been a muzzleloader hunt, but I wasn't fortunate enough to draw a tag, so back with the bow. No biggy. However I also see this is the same wk as a full moon. How much have you more experienced archery elk hunters seen a full moon effect Elk? Am I looking at a tougher hunt if the skies are clear all wk, and a bright full moon is glowing??
Old 08-22-2008, 09:24 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Elk & A Full Moon

I am not an experienced Archery hunter as this is my first year but I have hunted elk with a rifle for 20 years. The full moon will effect your hunt. They will feed throughout the night and stay in the timber more.
Old 08-23-2008, 06:54 AM
Nontypical Buck

The will tend to feed more in the night, and you may have to go after them in their bedroom.

With a little luck on your part, the rut will be on and you should be fine.

Where are you going to be hunting? Good Luck!
Old 08-24-2008, 05:09 PM
Typical Buck

Here's some Full Moon info I wrote oin the past!

This is one of the biggest questions many out of State & in State bowhunters have these days, that is, should I pick my hunting days during a Full Moon or just before or after or avoid this time frame completely? Hunting the full moon phases can be very productive when you approach it with the right attitude & knowledge of an elks activity at this time! Even in non peak rut times bulls & cows alike can become very vocal & nocturnal come Aug.--Sept. --Take advantage of these times, hunt elk in a manner you can take advantage of.